We set the bar high. And then they
raise it higher.


Information Studies Alumni

Imagine mastering information studies in a department made up of the top experts in the field with top-flight resources, facilities, and 50 years of excellence. Imagine no more: This is the UCLA Department of Information
Studies, and this is why many of the top professionals and leaders in the field come from UCLA.

Our alumni have gone on to pursue careers in companies and organizations such as the Walt Disney Company, The Huntington Library,  the J. Paul Getty Museum, eBay, and many more. Their reach includes over 50 libraries, collections, and archives in the greater Los Angeles area as well as private companies, government agencies, and public and private libraries across the country and around the world.

A Special Message from Department Chair Jonathan Furner


Library & Information Studies Alumni Association

If you are a graduate of the UCLA Department of Information Studies, then you are a member of the Library & Information Studies Alumni Association or LISAA. We provide alumni with opportunities for networking, lifelong learning, and engagement throughout the year. We invite you to stay connected and involved!


  • LISAA Fall Colloquium
  • Annual LISAA Mixer
  • LISAA Alumni Career Panel
  • Tour of the Huntington Library & Archives
  • LISAA Spring Awards Dinner

For a calendar of LISAA and Department wide events, please click here. For more information, contact us at alumni@gseis.ucla.edu.

LISAA Board of Directors:

The Library & Information Studies Alumni Association is governed by an advisory board, which donates considerable time and resources to help the Department and GSE&IS grow and prosper. Joining the Chair of the Department and the President of the Board are extraordinary members sharing a commitment to keep alumni connected and sustain the Department’s reputation for excellence.


Michele Beacham

Board Members

Keri Botello ’88
Ian Leong ’11

Andrew Magpantay ’86
Jennifer Pflaumer ’12
Elizabeth Spatz ’05
Claude Zachary ’98

Department Representative

Jonathan Furner, Department Chair

Student Representative

Elaine Levia